Capital city Hartford
Population 3,605,944 (2020)
Surface 14,371 km²
Governor Ned Lamont (D)
Member of the US since 1788

A map of Connecticut

Connecticut is one of the 50 states of the United States. The state is located in the northeast of the country and belongs to the New England region. Connecticut borders the states of New York, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts. The state abbreviation is CT and its nickname is ‘The Constitution State . The capital of Connecticut is Hartford. Connecticut, along with New York and New Jersey, is part of the so -called tri-state area. The state is named after the Connecticut River, which runs right through the state. Connecticut was first colonized by the Dutch and the western part of the state belonged to the Dutch colony of New Netherland. In the 1630s, the British founded the colony of Connecticut. This colony was founded by Thomas Hooker, who disagreed with the Puritans in Massachusetts and had to leave Massachusetts. Hooker took some of his followers and founded the new colony of Connecticut, which became an official colony in 1662. Connecticut was one of the 13 original states that declared independence from the British Empire in the American Revolution. In Connecticut, the so -called Connecticut compromise was reached, which caused the US Congress togot the Senate. Connecticut was one of the centers of American industry. Today, Connecticut is a blue state; the Democratic Party usually wins the state. Connecticut is known for Yale University, one of the top universities in the world.



Lake McDonough

In the south, Connecticut has a coast, which lies on the Long Island Sound. This is the sea inlet between Connecticut and New York’s Long Island. In terms of area, Connecticut is slightly larger than the Eastern European country of Montenegro. The highest point in the state is Bear Mountain in the northwest with an elevation of 708 meters. The north of the state is generally very hilly, while the coastal areas are very flat. Many coastal cities are less than 20 meters above sea level. The Connecticut flows through the middle of the state, giving the state its name. Most major cities are in the valley that this river forms, or at the southeasternmost tip near New York City. The coastal areas are also densely populated, while the other areas are sparsely populated. The northwest and northeast is rural with only a few villages. This is also where the most nature can be found, which consists mostly of mixed forests with grassy fields.


Connecticut has a continental climate. There is a difference between the north and the south of the state. The south has to do with many influences from the sea. As a result, the summers here are cooler and the winters milder than in the north. The north also has more snowfall in winter than the south. Connecticut often experiences severe thunderstorms due to the convergence of cold and warm air. A tornado occurs once a year, but these are often not very dangerous. Hurricanes do occur occasionally, but often they don’t go directly over Connecticut (but pass it). Precipitation falls throughout the year.

Big cities

Here are the 10 largest cities in Connecticut.

Connecticut’s Largest Cities

Number City Inhabitants County
1. Bridgeport 144,900 Fairfield County
2. New Haven 130.418 New Haven County
4. Stamford 129,775 Fairfield County
3. Hartford 122.587 Hartford County
5. Waterbury 108,093 New Haven County
6. Norwalk 89,047 Fairfield County
7. Danbury 84.730 Fairfield County
8. New Britain 72,453 Hartford County
9. Bristol 60.032 Hartford County
10. Meriden 59.540 New Haven County



A Map of Connecticut’s Population Density

Connecticut has a population of about 3.6 million residents. The population of the state is still growing a little bit, but the growth is slowing down. This growth is primarily due to immigration and people moving to Connecticut from other states. 71% of the population is white. They have ancestors from European countries and often descend from European settlers. Connecticut residents often have an Irish or Italian immigration background, while other white Americans in the state have ancestry from France, England, or Germany. 10% of the population is African American, 6.4% is Hispanic and 3.8% is Asian. The rest of the population is made up of Native and Pacific Americans. 82% of residents speak English at home. Other minority languages ​​include Spanish, Italian, French and Polish. English is recognized as the only language in Connecticut.


68% of the inhabitants are Christian. Of these, half are Protestant and the other half Catholic. There is also a small community of Mormons and Orthodox. 28% of the population indicates that they have no religion. In addition, there are all kinds of smaller religions, each of which is adhered to by about 1% of the population. These are Judaism, Buddhism and Hinduism.


State institution

The Connecticut State Capitol

Connecticut has a governor. The current governor of Connecticut is Ned Lamont on behalf of the Democratic Party. The governor is assisted by the governor-lieutenant (sort of vice-governor). The current Governor-Lieutenant is Susan Bysiewicz. In addition, there is another government. The state of Connecticut is responsible for several things in the state, such as health care, education, and infrastructure. In addition to government, Connecticut also has its own parliament: the Connecticut State Assembly. It consists of two rooms:

  • The House of Representatives, consisting of 151 members.
  • The Senate, consisting of 36 members.

Today, Democrats have a majority in both chambers. The rest of the seats are taken by the Republican Party. In the United States Congress, Connecticut provides two Senators (Democrats Richard Blumenthal and Chris Murphy) and five delegates (all on behalf of the Democratic Party). Connecticut, like many New England states, is a blue state. This means that the state is usually won over the Democratic Party. The Democrats also have a lot of supporters. Connecticut has voted for the Democratic nominee in every US presidential election since 1992.

Administrative division

A map of the counties of Connecticut

How many counties in Connecticut? Connecticut is divided into 8 counties. These are:

  • Fairfield County
  • Hartford County
  • Litchfield County
  • Middlesex County
  • New Haven County
  • New London County
  • Tolland County
  • Windham County


Connecticut is one of the richest states in the United States. Many wealthier Americans also live in Connecticut to be close to New York City. The main industries in Connecticut are finance and building sales. Many banks and insurance companies are based in Connecticut, such as The Hartford and Bank of America. Education and health care also provide many jobs. Many industry research centers also sit in Connecticut. Research is taking place in the state into medicines and new technologies. Tourism also plays a smaller role, as does agriculture. From Connecticut come eggs, vegetables, fruit, tobacco and shellfish.

Connecticut - The Constitution State

Connecticut – The Constitution State
Tagged on: